# Government

#### Names:

conventional long form: Union of Burma
conventional short form: Burma
local long form: Pyidaungzu Myanma Naingngandaw (translated by the US Government as Union of Myanma and by the Burmese as Union of Myanmar)
local short form: Myanma Naingngandaw
former: Socialist Republic of the Union of Burma

## Digraph: BM

**Type:** military regime

Capital: Rangoon (regime refers to the capital as Yangon)

Administrative divisions: 7 divisions\* (yin-mya, singular - yin) and 7 states (pyine-mya, singular - pyine); Chin State, Ayeyarwady\*, Bago\*, Kachin State, Kayin State, Kayah State, Magway\*, Mandalay\*, Mon State, Rakhine State, Sagaing\*, Shan State, Tanintharyi\*, Yangon\*

Independence: 4 January 1948 (from UK)

National holiday: Independence Day, 4 January (1948)

**Constitution:** 3 January 1974 (suspended since 18 September 1988); National Convention started on 9 January 1993 to draft a new constitution; chapter headings and three of 15 sections have been approved

Legal system: has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

## **Executive branch:**

*chief of state and head of government:* Chairman of the State Law and Order Restoration Council Gen. THAN SHWE (since 23 April 1992) State Law and Order Restoration Council: military junta which assumed power 18 September 1988

## Legislative branch:

People's Assembly (Pyithu Hluttaw): election last held 27 May 1990, but Assembly never convened; results - NLD 80%; seats - (485 total) NLD 396, the regime-favored NUP 10, other 79; was dissolved after the coup of 18 September 1988

**Judicial branch:** limited; remnants of the British-era legal system in place, but there is no guarantee of a fair public trial; the judiciary is not independent of the executive

**Political parties and leaders:** Union Solidarity and Development Association (USDA), THAN AUNG, Secretary; National Unity Party (NUP; proregime), THA KYAW; National League for Democracy (NLD), U AUNG SHWE; and eight other minor legal parties **Other political or pressure groups:** National Coalition Government of the Union of Burma (NCGUB), headed by the elected prime minister SEIN WIN (consists of individuals legitimately elected to Parliament but not recognized by the military regime; the group fled to a border area and joined with insurgents in December 1990 to form a parallel government; Kachin Independence Army (KIA); United Wa State Army (UWSA); Karen National Union (KNU); several Shan factions, including the Mong Tai Army (MTA); All Burma Student Democratic Front (ABSDF)

**Member of:** AsDB, CCC, CP, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, GATT, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT (nonsignatory user), INTERPOL, IOC, ITU, NAM, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WMO

#### **Diplomatic representation in US:**

*chief of mission:* Ambassador U THAUNG *chancery:* 2300 S Street NW, Washington, DC 20008 *telephone:* [1] (202) 332-9044, 9045 *consulate(s) general:* New York

#### US diplomatic representation:

*chief of mission:* (vacant); Charge d'Affaires Marilyn A. MEYERS *embassy:* 581 Merchant Street, Rangoon (GPO 521) *mailing address:* American Embassy, Box B, APO AP 96546 *telephone:* [95] (1) 82055, 82182 (operator assistance required) *FAX:* [95] (1) 80409

**Flag:** red with a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner bearing, all in white, 14 five-pointed stars encircling a cogwheel containing a stalk of rice; the 14 stars represent the 14 administrative divisions

## **Defense Forces**

Branches: Army, Navy, Air Force

Manpower availability: males age 15-49 11,553,094; females age 15-49 11,463,189; males fit for military service 6,180,091; females fit for military service 6,116,421; males reach military age (18) annually 457,445 (1995 est.); females reach military age (18) annually 441,628 (1995 est.) *note:* both sexes liable for military service

Defense expenditures: \$NA, NA% of GDP